Greening the Press: Step One

A couple years ago I was the submission manager for Silk Road Review. That is, I walked across campus with a giant basket to the mailroom, filled it with the submissions we received, and walked back. I cataloged the submissions, sent them to our acquisitions editors for review (still in envelope wrapping), and once accepted or rejected, I separated the envelope from submission and filed the envelope in case we lost an address. At the end of the year, though, it was time to recycle the envelopes—hundreds and hundreds of envelopes.

I always felt like this was a shame, that although we were recycling these envelopes it would have been less wasteful to eliminate the need for paper in the first place. Paper can only be recycled so many times before the fibers degrade, and postal trucks use a lot of gas to bring us the submissions.

Finally, Silk Road Review has an online submission manager. No paper waste, no carbon emissions, no running across campus, and hey, the writer gets to save on postage too.

–Tanna Waters,  Director of Online Marketing and Promotions

Submit online here:

http://www.silkroadreview.org/submissions/

Other Literary Magazines with Online Submission:

Agni http://www.agnimagazine.org

The Antioch Review http://www.antiochreview.org/

Ascent http://readthebestwriting.com/

Blackbird http://www.blackbird.vcu.edu/v9n1/

Burnside Review http://www.burnsidereview.org/index.php

Colorado Review http://coloradoreview.colostate.edu

Glimmer Train http://www.glimmertrain.com/

Kenyon Review http://www.kenyonreview.org/

Mississippi Review http://www.mississippireview.com/

Ploughshares http://www.pshares.org/

Rattle http://rattle.com/blog/

Redivider http://www.redividerjournal.org/

Red Rock Review http://sites.csn.edu/english/redrockreview/

Silk Road Review http://silkroad.pacificu.edu/

Tin House http://www.tinhouse.com/

upstreet http://www.upstreet-mag.org/welcome_layers.html

Virginia Quarterly Review http://www.vqronline.org/

Weave http://www.weavemagazine.net/

Willow Springs http://willowsprings.ewu.edu

World Literature Today http://www.worldliteraturetoday.com